Skip to All NYU Navigation Skip to Main Content

Winston Churchill Foundation Scholarships

Deadline NYU internal deadline - May 19, 2017
External deadline - November 7, 2017
Eligibility Bachelor's by time of award
Duration 9-12 months

Candidates must

  • be a U.S. citizen
  • be a current senior or recent graduate
  • between the ages of 19 and 26 when taking up the award
  • submit the results of the GRE or MCAT
  • submit a separate application to the University of Cambridge, which is due mid-October


The Winston Churchill Foundation of the United States awards 14 Churchill Scholarships each year, depending on its funding levels, for either the Master of Philosophy or the Master of Advanced Study at the University of Cambridge in science, mathematics, and engineering. The award is made from a pool of nominees submitted by the Participating Institutions, which may endorse up to two candidates each.

If interested in applying for the Churchill, please identify a program of study first. This is not straightforward, and will require careful reading and research on your part.

When you feel confident of your choice (or feel you cannot make a choice without more information than what is on the Churchill website), please make an appointment with someone at the Office of Global Awards through our Support Structures page. 

To register for calls for application, information sessions about this scholarship, and workshops, please sign up on our scholarship list-serv on our homepage.