New York University Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Sub Navigation

Faculty Awards and Accomplishments


PEDRO NOGUERA, the Peter L. Agnew Professor of Education at Steinhardt, has received two recent awards: the 2014 SAGE-CASBS Award, presented by SAGE Publications and the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford University, recognizing outstanding accomplishments in advancing the understanding of behavioral sciences; and the Distinguished Service Award for Service to Education from the National Association of Secondary School Principals, recognizing his work on culture, equity, and access.

ROGER BAGNALL, the Leon Levy Director of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, has been elected president of the Society for Classical Studies.

NORMAN DORSEN, the Frederick I. and Grace A. Stokes Professor of Law, has been named winner of the Hugh M. Hefner Foundation’s Lifetime Achievement Award, one of the foundation’s group of First Amendment Awards.  

The book If A, then B: How the World Discovered Logic by Liberal Studies Master Teachers MICHAEL SHENEFELT and HEIDI WHITE was the gold winner in the "Philosophy Non-Fiction" category of Foreword's IndieFab Book of the Year Awards.

CATHERINE SHARKEY, Crystal Eastman Professor of Law, was appointed to the Administrative Conference of the United States.

JUDITH SCHWARTZ, Professor of Art at the Steinhardt School, was elected Vice President of the International Academy of Ceramics.

JAMES PACE, Associate Dean and Clinical Assistant Professor in the College of Nursing, was selected as a fellow of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing.

MARILYN NONKEN, Associate Professor of Music and Music Education at the Steinhardt School, is the recipient of the Nouveau Classical Project's Visionary Award.

SUSAN NEUMAN, Professor of Early Childhood and Literacy Education at the Steinhardt School, is the recipient of the A.B. Herr Award from the Association of Literacy Educators and Researchers.

Neuroscientist and psychologist JOSEPH LEDOUX, Henry and Lucy Moses Professor of Science in the Center for Neural Science, is among 50 of the American Psychological Association's Extremely Eminent Psychologists worldwide.

VITTORIA FLAMINI, Industry Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at the Polytechnic School of Engineering, was awarded the Biomedical Engineering Innovation and Career Development Award by the Biomedical Engineering Society.

The following faculty were included among the Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researchers for 2014:

  • HENRY R. BLACK, Adjunct Professor, Medicine
  • MICHAEL R. BLANTON, Associate Professor of Physics, FAS
  • GYOERGY BUZSAKI, Biggs Professor of Neuroscience, Medicine
  • WILLIAM EASTERLY, Professor of Economics, FAS
  • ELZA ERKIP, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Polytechnic School of Engineering
  • XAVIER GABAIX, Martin J. Gruber Professor of Finance, Stern
  • DAN R. LITTMAN, Helen L. and Martin S. Kimmel Professor of Molecular Immunology and Professor of Pathology, Microbiology, and Molecular Pathogenosis, Medicine
  • DANNY REINBERG, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology, Medicine

VIRAL ACHARYA, C.V. Starr Professor of Economics at Stern, won the 2014 Best Paper on Global Financial Markets award from the Chinese Finance Association for "The Greatest Carry Trade Ever? Understanding Eurozone Bank Risks."

PETE HAMILL, Distinguished Writer in Residence at the Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute, received the Eugene O'Neill Lifetime Achievement Award from Irish American Writers & Artists for his 50-year career as a newspaper editor, reporter, and columnist; novelist; and author of non-fiction books.

ARUN SUNDARARAJAN, Professor of Information, Operations, and Management Sciences at Stern, received a 2014 IBM Faculty Award, which will support his work heading the Social Cities Initiative at the Center for Urban Science and Progress (CUSP).

KIT FINE, University Professor of Philosophy, received a 2014 Anneliese Maier Research Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. The five-year award supports the internationalization of the humanities and social sciences in Germany.

WILLIAM BAUMOL, Harold Price Professor of Entrepreneurship at Stern, and ISRAEL KIRZNER, Professor Emeritus of Economics, were selected as 2014 Thomson Reuters Citation Laureates for their contributions to the field of economic sciences.

Baumol was also recently awarded the 2014 Foundational Paper Award by the Entrepreneurship Division of the Academy of Management for his paper "Entrepreneurship, Productive, Unproductive, and Destructive," which was published in 1990.

ANDREW MAJDA, Samuel F. B. Morse Professor of Arts and Science at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, is the recipient of the 2015 LaGrange Prize from the International Congress on Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM). The award recognizes his ground-breaking, original, fundamental and pioneering contributions to applied mathematics and, in particular, to wave front propagation and combustion, scattering theory, fluid dynamics and atmosphere climate science.

President Obama has nominated DEBORAH WILLIS--University Professor and Chair of Photography and Imaging at Tisch, and affiliated faculty in the Department of Social and Cultural Analysis at FAS--to serve on the National Council on the Humanities.

FINN BRUNTON, Assistant Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication at the Steinhardt School, won a PROSE award from the Professional & Scholarly Publishing Association of American Publishers for his book Spam: A Shadow History of the Internet (MIT, 2013).

RODNEY BENSON, Associate Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication at the Steinhardt School received the 2014 Tankard Book Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication for his book Shaping Immigration News: A French-American Comparison (Cambridge, 2013).

MARA MILLS, Assistant Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication at the Steinhardt School, won a Humboldt Fellowship from Germany's Alexander von Humboldt Foundation to support research she will undertake in 2015.

SUSAN MURRAY, Associate Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication at the Steinhardt School, won a fellowship from the American Council of Learned Societies.

RADHA HEGDE, Associate Professor of Media, Culture, and Communication at the Steinhardt School, won a Fulbright Scholarship.

The University named a new class of Silver Professors from the Faculty of Arts and Science and Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences:

  • PATRICK COUSOT, Professor of Computer Science, Courant
  • DON GARRETT, Professor of Philosophy, FAS
  • TERRY HARRISON, Professor of Anthropology, FAS
  • DAVID J. HEEGER, Professor of Psychology and Neural Science, FAS
  • DAVID W. MCLAUGHLIN, Professor of Mathematics and Neural Science and Provost of NYU
  • JOANNA WALEY-COHEN, Professor of History, FAS and Provost of NYU Shanghai

The Professorships, named in honor of Julius Silver, Roslyn S. Silver, and Enid Silver Winslow, strengthen the Faculty of Arts and Science, emphasize the importance of undergraduate education, and ensure the advancement of the sciences at NYU.

JONATHAN VIVENTI, Assistant Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Polytechnic School of Engineering, was named to two lists of leading young scientists: Popular Science magazine's annual "Brilliant 10" list of scientists under the age of 38 who are poised to revolutionize their fields, and the MIT Technology Review's "Innovators under 35" list of exceptionally talented technologists whose work holds great potential to transform the world.

NYU Footer