Louis Nirenberg, professor emeritus in the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences,  has been selected by the International Congress of Mathematicians as the first recipient of the Chern Medal "for his role in the formulation of the modern theory of non-linear elliptic partial differential equations and for mentoring numerous students and post-docs in this area.”  The Chern Medal, named after Shiing-Shen Chern, recognizes individuals “whose lifelong outstanding achievements in the field of mathematics warrant the highest level of recognition.” The Institute will host a special reception in honor of Louis in Fall 2010.

Hasia Diner, a professor in the Skirball Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies and the Department of History, has been awarded a 2010 Guggenheim Fellowship.  Under her fellowship, Professor Diner will continue work on a forthcoming book on the role of peddlers in stimulating Jewish migration from the middle of the 19th century through the early 20th century.

Nadrian Seeman, a professor in the Department of Chemistry History, has been awarded a 2010 Guggenheim Fellowship.  Professor Seeman will be writing a textbook on structural DNA nanotechnology.

Courant Institute associate professor Subhash Khot has received the National Science Foundation’s Alan T. Waterman Award, a $500,000 grant awarded annually to an outstanding young researcher. Professor Khot, a theoretical computer scientist, works in “computational complexity,” which seeks to understand the power and limits of efficient computation, with far-reaching consequences for computer security.

Jerry Hultin, president of NYU-Poly, received the Ellis Island Medal of Honor in a ceremony on Ellis Island in early May. Sponsored by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations, the Medals recognize American citizens of diverse origins who have distinguished themselves through their significant contributions to this country.

Timothy Bromage of the College of Dentistry has been awarded the 2010 Max Planck Research Award. The $1.02 million award is granted to one researcher working in Germany and one researcher working abroad who have established international reputations. Dr. Bromage, professor of basic science and craniofacial biology and of biomaterials and biomimetics, will collaborate with Friedemann Schrenk of the Senckenberg Research Institute to research the microanatomical structure of bones and teeth, and the links between metabolic states, growth rates, life spans, and biological features such as sex and body size.

Politics Professor Adam Przeworski has been awarded the Johan Skytte Prize in Political Science for his scholarship examining the interplay among democracy, capitalism, and economic development. Awarded annually by the Skytte Foundation at Sweden’s Uppsala University, the prize is one of the largest and most prestigious in political science. 

Chemistry Professor Nadrian Seeman has been awarded one of two 2010 Kavli Prize in Nanoscience for his creation of robotic devices that have the potential to create new materials a billionth of a meter in size.  The Kavli Prize is given every two years for “outstanding research and seminal advances” in astrophysics, nanoscience, and neuroscience.

J. Anthony Movshon, director of New York University’s Center for Neural Science, has been named one of two recipients of the 2010 António Champalimaud Vision Award from the the Lisbon-based Champalimaud Foundation for his work on how the brain reconstructs images.

Louis Nirenberg, a professor emeritus at New York University’s Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, has been awarded the inaugural Chern Medal for his contributions to the basic mathematical tools of modern science. The award was given by the International Mathematical Union (IMU) and the Chern Medal Foundation and the announcement was made at the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) in Hyderabad, India.

The American Psychological Association (APA) has awarded neuroscientist Joseph LeDoux, University Professor and Henry and Lucy Moses Professor of Science, a Distinguished Scientific Award for “his success in reinvigorating the field of emotion by uncovering the neural mechanisms of emotional learning.”

Mathy Mezey, Associate Director of the Hartford Institute for Geriatric Nursing at the College of Nursing, was the recipient of the American Geriatrics Society Nasher/Manning Award for her teaching, leadership and life-long achievement in clinical geriatrics.

NYU Professors David Levering Lewis and Philippe de Montebello were among the eight recipients of the 2009 National Humanities Medal. President Barack Obama presented the medals at a Feb. 25 ceremony in the White House’s East Room.  Levering Lewis, the Julius Silver University Professor and Professor of History, was recognized “for his insightful examinations of W.E.B. DuBois, the Dreyfus Affair, and early Islamic-Christian relations in Europe, which have enriched our understanding of the figures and forces that shaped world history.”  De Montebello, Fiske Kimball Professor in the History and Culture of Museums at the Institute of Fine and special advisor to the provost at NYU Abu Dhabi, was recognized “for his vision in bringing great art to an international public and his leadership in revitalizing the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and for fostering arts appreciation among people of all ages.”