Skip to All NYU Navigation Skip to Main Content

2008-2009 Awards

"For his revolutionary contributions to geometry," Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences Professor Mikhael Gromov has received the 2009 Abel Prize. King Harald of Norway presented the award to Gromov in Oslo on May 19, 2009. According to the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, “Mikhail Gromov has led some of the most important developments, producing profoundly original general ideas which have resulted in new perspectives on geometry and other areas of mathematics. Gromov’s name is forever attached to deep results and important concepts with Riemannian geometry, symplectic geometry, string theory and group theory.”

New York University Chemistry Professor Nadrian Seeman has received the American Chemical Society's Nichols Medal for his founding and establishing the field of structural DNA nanotechnology. Created in 1902, the Nichols Medal annually recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of chemistry and is given by the society's New York section.

New York University's Ken Perlin, a professor at the Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, has been recognized by the Association for Computing Machinery's Special Interest Group on Graphics and Interactive Techniques (ACM SIGGRAPH) for his "broad contributions and impact across computer graphics," the organization announced this week.

New York University Biologist Richard Bonneau has been named one of 20 "visionary" scientists under the age of 40 byDiscover magazine. Bonneau, 33, is an assistant professor who holds appointments at NYU's Center for Genomics and Systems Biology and the university's Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences. The story, "Best Brains in Science 2008," appears in Discover's December issue.

The International Documentary Association will honor Sam Pollard, professor in the Kanbar Institute of Film and Television at the Tisch School of the Arts, with a career award at the Director's Guild of America on Dec. 5 in Los Angeles. Pollard is the inaugural winner of the 2008 Avid Excellence in Editing Award.

Scott Hightower, an adjunct professor in NYU's Gallatin School of Individualized Study, has been awarded a Willis Barnstone Translation Prize for his translation of the Aurora de Albornoz poem "In of Those Children in a Row, #3" from its original Spanish.

A $75,000 grant over three years from the John A. Hartford Foundation, administered by the New York Academy of Medicine, has been awarded to the Silver School of Social Work to develop a Field Learning Partnership Program in Integrated Geriatric Mental Health (IGMH). The grant will place 12 students in hospital and community-based geriatric mental health settings.

New York University Professor Richard Sennett has been named the winner of the 2008 Gerda Henkel Prize, which recognizes outstanding scholarly achievement in the historical humanities. The prize includes a cash award of 100,000 euros ($160,000) and is given every two years by the Gerda Henkel Foundation in Düsseldorf, Germany.

The Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA) recently awarded Deborah Willis, Universtiy Professor and Chair of the Department of Photography and Imaging at the Tisch School of the Arts, its Outstanding Contribution to Publishing Citation for "Let Your Motto Be Resistance: African American Portraits" (Smithsonian's National Museum of African American History and Culture).

Joanna Merlin, adjunct teacher in the Graduate Acting Program at the Tisch School of the Arts, was honored earlier this month in Moscow by Russians Abroad, an organization founded by the writer Alexander Solzhenitsyn to honor Russian émigrés who have made significant contributions to American scientific and cultural life. She received a medal for her work in continuing the legacy of the late Russian actor, director, and author Michael Chekhov (1891-1955).

Assaf Naor, an associate professor at New York University's Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, has been named a recipient of a 2008 Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering. Naor was one of 20 scientific researchers to receive a fellowship. Each fellow receives an unrestricted research grant of $875,000 over five years.