New York University Philosophy Professor Thomas Nagel has received a 2008 Rolf Schock Prize, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced. Nagel, whose research centers on political philosophy, ethics, and philosophy of mind, received the prize in the category of "Logic and Philosophy."

Three New York University faculty have been named to Foreign Policy's "Top 100 Public Intellectuals" list, the magazine announced in its May/June 2008 issue: William Easterly, a professor in the Department of Economics; historian Tony Judt, who directs NYU's Remarque Institute; and economist Nouriel Roubini, a professor in NYU's Stern School of Business.

The American Philosophical Society has elected three New York University faculty as members: Jorge Castañeda, a Distinguished Global Professor of Politics; Ronald Dworkin, the Frank Henry Sommer Professor of Law at NYU's School of Law; and Itamar Rabinovich, a Global Distinguished Professor at NYU's Taub Center for Israel Studies. Others elected this year include former Vice President Albert Gore, Jr., New Yorker Editor David Remnick, and Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences (AAAS) has elected three New York University faculty as fellows: Richard Pildes, a professor in NYU's School of Law; Elliot Wolfson, a professor in NYU's Department of Hebrew and Judaic Studies; and Jorge Castañeda, a Distinguished Global Professor of Politics, who was elected as a foreign honorary member of AAAS.

Two New York University professors, Helmut Hofer of NYU's Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Anthony Movshon, director of the University's Center for Neural Science, have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Kanchan Chandra, an associate professor in New York University’s Wilf Family Department of Politics, has been named a 2008 Carnegie Scholar by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. Chandra, whose published works include Why Ethnic Parties Succeed: Patronage and Ethnic Head Counts in India (Cambridge University Press), will address the effect of the mobilization of Muslim political identities on democracy.

Three New York University professors have been awarded 2008 Guggenheim Fellowships, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation said in announcing 190 fellowship awards totaling $8.2 million. This year's NYU recipients are:Brigitte Miriam Bedos-Rezak, a professor in the Department of History; Richard Pildes, a professor in the School of Law; and Nancy Ruttenburg, a professor of Comparative Literature, English, and Slavic Literatures and chair of the Department of Comparative Literature.

New York University's Kyle Cranmer, an assistant professor in the Department of Physics, has been awarded a Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE). The awards, announced by the White House, identify outstanding scientists and engineers who will broadly advance science and the missions important to federal agencies.

Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan, a professor at New York University's Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, will receive the Abel Prize in mathematics from the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters on Tues., May 22 in Oslo. His Majesty King Harald will present the award at a ceremony that begins at 2 p.m. local time (8 a.m. EDT). Her Majesty Queen Sonja will also attend the award ceremony. The Minister of Education and Research, Øystein Djupedal, will be among the many prominent guests, and Norway's Prime Minister Jens Stoltenberg will host a banquet honoring Varadhan at Akershus Castle in the evening of the award ceremony.

Academy Award-winner John Canemaker, a professor and director of animation in NYU's Kanbar Institute of Film & Television at the Tisch School of the Arts, has added an Emmy to his list of honors for his autobiographical animated film The Moon and the Son: An Imagined Conversation. At the 28th annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards last month, the 28-minute documentary won an Emmy(R) for Outstanding Achievement in a Craft: Graphic & Artistic Design. The film won an Oscar for Best Animated Short Film in 2005.

NYU College of Nursing's Dean Terry Fulmer and co-investigator Sheryl Strasser, and co-investigator Stefanie Russell of the NYU College of Dentistry, have received a two-year $356,569 grant from the National Institute on Aging to study elder mistreatment (EM).

Jacek Debiec, Center for Neural Science, was recently awarded the Neal E. Miller Young Investigator Award, given by the Academy of Behavioral Medicine Research.

Roger S. Bagnall, Director of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World (ISAW) at NYU and Professor of Ancient History, has been named a Phi Beta Kappa Visiting Scholar for 2007-2008.

Sam Pollard, Professor of Undergraduate Film and Television at the TIsch School of Arts, was awarded an Emmy for Outstanding Picture Editing for Nonfiction Programming forWhen the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts.

Ronald Dworkin, NYU Law Professor, has been awarded the Holberg International Memorial Prize for 2007. The award, which carries a cash prize of $750,000 (555,000 euro), is given by the Ludvig Holberg Memorial Fund and recognizes outstanding scholarly work in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law, and theology. The official award ceremony for the Holberg Prize will take place on November 28 in Bergen, Norway.

Akshay Venkatesh, an Associate Professor at New York University's Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, has been awarded the 2007-2008 Salem Prize. The prize was established by the widow of Raphael Salem and is awarded every year to a young mathematician judged to have done outstanding work in Salem’s field of interest—the theory of Fourier series, an infinite series used to solve differential equations.

Daniel Malamud, Professor of Basic Sciences at the New York University College of Dentistry, was recently awarded a five-year, $9,000,000 grant from the National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research (NIDCR) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to continue developing a portable microfluidic “lab-on-a-chip” for rapid point-of-care detection of multiple bacterial and viral targets using oral fluids. Malamud joined NYUCD in the fall of 2005 and has been involved in HIV research for the past 15 years.

Yu Zhang, Assistant Professor of Biomaterials and Biomimetics at the NYU College of Dentistry, was recently awarded a three-year, $750,000 grant by the National Institute of Dental and Cranofacial Research at the National Institutes of Health to test his hypothesis that reformulating zirconia as a glass-ceramic composite will increase its fracture-resistance.

Mary Schmidt Campbell, Dean of NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts, has been selected by Governor Eliot Spitzer to chair the New York State Council on the Arts. As Chair, Dr. Campbell will lead the Council in its mission to perserve, sustain, and promote the extraodinary artistic and cultural heritage of New York State.