Rachel Sheinkin, Graduate Musical Theatre Writing (GMTW), Tisch School of the Arts, won a Tony Award for best Book of a Musical for the 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.William Finn, also on faculty in GMTW, did the music and lyrics for Spelling Bee.

Harvey Dale, University Professor of Philanthropy and the Law, Sylvia Law, Elizabeth K. Dollard Professor of Law, Medicine, and Psychiatry, and Frederick A. O. Schwarz, Senior Counsel at the Brennan Center for Justice, all of the School of Law, were inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Yingkai Zhang, Chemistry, Faculty of Arts and Science, has been awarded a $200,000 James D. Watson Young Investigator Award from the New York State Office of Science, Technology, and Academic Research (NYSTAR). The grant will support research in developing an innovative computational strategy for the rational design of biocatalysts.

Robert Engle, Finance, Stern School of Business, Ruth Lehmann, Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine, School of Medicine, and Margaret Wright, Computer Science, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, were elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

Bernard Haykel, Middle Eastern and Islamic Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science, and Noah Feldman, School of Law, have been named Carnegie Scholars by the Carnegie Corporation of New York. Each of the 16 scholars selected this year will receive up to $100,000 for a period of up to two years to pursue research advancing the strategic work of the Corporation. This year's scholars will all study themes focusing on Islam and the modern world.

Dalton Conley, Sociology, Faculty of Arts and Science, received the National Science Foundation's 2005 Waterman Award, which recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation. Conley, Director of NYU's Center for Advanced Social Science Research, is the first sociologist to win the award since its inception in 1975.

Diana Taylor and Deborah Willis, who both have appointments in the Tisch School of the Arts and the Faculty of Arts and Science, have been awarded fellowships from the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Peter Lax, Emeritus Professor, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, was awarded the Abel Prize in mathematics by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters for "his groundbreaking contributions to the theory and application of partial differential equations and to the computation of their solutions." The honor is accompanied by a prize of some $980,000.

Diana Taylor, Performance Studies, Tisch School of the Arts, won the Modern Language Association of Americas Katherine Singer Kovacs Prize for her book The Archive and the Repertoire: Performing Cultural Memory in the Americas.

Marion Nestle, the Paulette Goddard Professor in Nutrition, Food Studies, and Public Health, Steinhardt School of Education, received the National Committee for Quality Assurance (NCQA) Health Quality Award. Presented every two years, the award honors individuals and organizations whose energy, efforts, and vision have substantially helped improve the quality of U.S. health care.

Kent Kirshenbaum, Chemistry, Faculty of Arts and Science, received a James D. Watson Investigator Award from the New York State Office of Science, Technology, and Academic Research (NYSTAR) program. With his $200,000 award, Kirshenbaum will explore ways to improve MRI to offer early diagnosis of osteoarthritis.

Red Burns, Interactive Telecommunications Program, Tisch School of the Arts, was honored with the New York Hall of Science Distinguished Leadership Award for achievement in technology, the education of future leaders, and pioneering leadership in the expansion of technology industry in New York.

Harold Edwards, Professor Emeritus, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, received the 2005 Albert Leon Whiteman Memorial Prize from the American Mathematical Society (AMS). The award, given every four years, is one of the highest distinctions recognizing contributions to the history of mathematics.

Christine Choy, Graduate Film Division in the Kanbar Institute of Film Television, Tisch School of the Arts, was honored with a 2004 Asian American of the Year Award. She was feted at a gala celebration in New York by the Asian Americans for Equality, a non-profit organization established in 1974 with a mission of empowering Asian Americans and others in need.

Stephane Gerson, Institute of French Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science, was awarded the Jacques Barzun Prize in American or European Cultural History in recognition of his book The Pride of Place: Local Memories and Political Culture in Nineteenth-Century France (Cornell University Press). The award is presented annually to the author whose book exhibits distinguished work in cultural history.

Mathy Mezey, Director of the John A. Hartford Foundation Institute for Geriatric Nursing, College of Nursing, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Gerontological Nursing Association.