New York University Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Sub Navigation

Academic Assessment Council

The Assessment Council is comprised of faculty, staff, and administrator liaisons representing each academic unit within the NYU community. Meeting several times per semester, the Council creates innovative assessment strategies, monitors compliance with university and accreditation assessment policies, shares success stories and assessment-related challenges, and develops meaningful practices to improve student learning across NYU programs and units.

Membership

Cybele Raver (Co-Chair)
Vice Provost of Academic, Faculty and Research Affairs
cylebe.raver@nyu.edu

Diana Karafin (Co-Chair)
Director of Assessment and Evaluation
diana.karafin@nyu.edu

Barnett Hamberger (Middle States Liaison)
Assistant Provost, Academic Program Review
bwh1@nyu.edu

Brianna Bates
Assistant Director, Academic Program Review
brianna.bates@nyu.edu

Nathan Leitner
Research Analyst, Office of Academic Assessment
nathan.leitner@nyu.edu

Richard Kalb
Associate Dean for Students
richard.kalb@nyu.edu

James Mazza
Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
james.mazza@nyu.edu

Charles Seife
Professor
charles.seife@nyu.edu

Trace Jordan
Clinical Associate Professor
trace.jordan@nyu.edu

Vincent Renzi
Clinical Associate Professor
vincent.renzi@nyu.edu

Andrea Schreiber
Associate Dean of Graduate and Post-Graduate Programs
andrea.schreiber@nyu.edu

Louis Terracio
Vice Dean for Research
louis.terracio@nyu.edu

Martina Lynch
Director, Planning and Assessment
martina.lynch@nyu.edu

Cheryl Merzel
Director, MPH Program; Clinical Associate Professor of Global Public Health
cheryl.merzel@nyu.edu

James Pace
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs
james.pace@nyu.edu

Sonia DeLuca Fernandez
Director of Research and Assessment
soniadf@nyu.edu

Millery Polyné
Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs
millery.polyne@nyu.edu

Celeste Orangers
Assistant Dean for Academic Policy Administration and Institutional Research
celeste.orangers@nyu.edu

Janet Alperstein
Senior Director, Academic Services and Support
janet.alperstein@nyu.edu

Ryan Poynter
Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
ryan.poynter@nyu.edu

Kathleen Talvacchia
Associate Dean
kathleen.talvacchia@nyu.edu

Priscilla Soucek
Director of Graduate Studies
ps3@nyu.edu

Diann Witt
Assistant Dean of Planning and Student Services
dwitt@stern.nyu.edu

Thomas Pugel
Vice Dean for MBA Programs
tpugel@stern.nyu.edu

Julie Chambers
Associate Director, Professional Programs
jchamber@stern.nyu.edu

Anya Takos
Director, PhD Program
atakos@stern.nyu.edu 

Fred Schwarzbach
Dean
fss3@nyu.edu

Peter Diamond
Core Program Coordinator
peter.diamond@nyu.edu  

James Zellinger
Manager of Institutional Research
james.zellinger@nyu.edu

Hilary Ballon
Professor & Deputy Vice Chancellor
hilary.ballon@nyu.edu

Cydney Delia
Director of Academic Resource Center
cydney.delia@nyu.edu

Rachel Maxwell
Associate Director
rachel.maxwell@nyu.edu

Ellen Lovitz
Director of Student Affairs Administration, Curriculum Planning and Adjunct Affairs
ellen.lovitz@nyu.edu

Ann Lederman
Associate Director, Operations Research
ann.lederman@nyu.edu  

Elizabeth Larsen
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Urban Planning
elizabeth.larsen@nyu.edu
 

Connee Zotos
Clinical Associate Professor
cez1@nyu.edu

Jessica Martin
Assistant Director, Academic and Faculty Affairs
jnm330@nyu.edu
 

Andrew Williams
Director, Lawyering Program
andrew.williams@nyu.edu

Mike Ambrosino
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
michael.ambrosino@nyumc.org

Colleen Gillespie
Assistant Professor of Medicine
colleen.gillespie@nyumc.org

James Martin
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Director, MSW Program
james.martin@nyu.edu

Takako Kono
Assistant Director, MSW Program Services
takako.kono@nyu.edu

Robert Hawkins
Associate Professor in Poverty Studies
rlh6@nyu.edu

Vincent Guilamo-Ramos
Director, PhD Program
vincent.ramos@nyu.edu

Genielle Salazar
Assistant Director, PhD Program
genielle.salazar@nyu.edu  

Heather Herrera
Director, Academic Affairs
heather.herrera@nyu.edu

Jessica Sears
Administrative Manager
jessica.sears@nyu.edu

Danny Anthony Schieffler
Manager, Doctoral Studies
dschieffler@nyu.edu

Robert Rowe
Associate Dean, Research and Doctoral Studies
robert.rowe@nyu.edu

Richard Thorsen
Vice President Emeritus; Senior Advisor to the President
rthorsen@poly.edu

Michael Mainiero
Executive Director of Academic Administrative Services
mmainier@nyu.edu

Louis Scheeder
Associate Dean of Faculty
louis.scheeder@nyu.edu

Joan Maniego
Assistant Director, Office of Deputy Dean
joan.maniego@nyu.edu

Susan Hilferty
Chair of Design Department
sh9@nyu.edu

Carrie Meconis
Assistant Director
carrie.meconis@nyu.edu

Laura Levine
Associate Professor
levine@nyc.rr.com

photo of meeting

Upcoming Events

Academic Assessment Council Meetings, 2015 - 2016
November 9, 2015, 1:00pm – 2:30pm
Kimmel Center, Room 905/907, 60 Washington Square South

February 29, 2016, 1:00pm – 2:30pm
HR Room 191, 105 East 17th Street

April 11, 2016, 1:00pm – 2:30pm
HR Room 191, 105 East 17th Street


Minutes & Presentations

Minutes

12.12.2013 (PDF)

10.20.2014 (PDF)

02.25.2015 (PDF)

Presentations

09.11.2013 (PDF)

10.30.2013 (PDF)

12.12.2013 (PDF)

06.02.2014 (PDF)

10.20.2014 (PDF)

02.25.2015 (PDF)


Guest Presentations

Piloting an Enhanced Service Model for Instructional Technology (PDF)

  • Elizabeth McAlpin, NYU Global Technology Services, 10.30.13

Supporting What Faculty Do Best: Teachers, Scholars, Researchers, and Critics Take on Assessment (PDF)

  • Jeannine Pinto, Fordham University Office of Institutional Research, 12.12.13
NYU Footer