Faculty Committee on the Future of Technology-Enhanced Education at NYU

Committee Charge

The FTEE Committee advises the Provost’s Office on strategies and policies for technologies that support teaching and learning. This committee is particularly oriented towards future opportunities and challenges for NYU. It works closely with the Instructional Technologists Committee and the Digital Learning User Committee, two other standing committees that deal with present-day issues and concerns around teaching, learning, and technology.

The FTEE Committee:

  • represents faculty interests and concerns in choices and policies that will affect how faculty teach using digital tools
  • represents the interests of different schools in the specification and adoption of platforms for digital learning and analytics
  • promotes experimentation with new tools and approaches in the schools
  • promotes research on the pedagogical benefits of those tools and approaches
  • proposes and recommends means of informing faculty on the availability and use of new tools and approaches
  • proposes and recommends incentive structures and contractual requirements for faculty engaged in new uses of these tools and approaches

2018-2019 Membership

  • Clay Shirky (Vice Provost for Educational Technologies / TSOA, ITP; FAS, Journalism; NYUSH), Chair

  • Mark Alter (T-FSC / Steinhardt, Teaching and Learning)
  • Barry Adler (Law)
  • Andrew Battista (Provostial appointee / Libraries)
  • Lucas Champollion (FAS, Linguistics)
  • Elena Cunningham (Dentistry)
  • Clara Fernandez-Vara (TSOA, ITP)
  • Scott Fitzgerald (Provostial appointee; Tandon, IDM)
  • Robyn Gershon (GPH)
  • Colleen Gillespie (Medicine)
  • Haldun Hadimioglu (Tandon, Computer Science and Engineering)
  • Louise Harpman (Gallatin)
  • Jonathan Hay (Institute of Fine Arts)
  • Sebastian Heath (Institute for the Study of the Ancient World)
  • Linda Herrmann (Meyers)
  • Philip Kain (Liberal Studies)
  • Selin Kalaycioglu (Courant / FAS, Mathematics)
  • Edward Kleinert (C-FSC / SPS)
  • Nicholas Lanzieri (Silver)
  • Josh Merfeld (Wagner)
  • Antonios Saravanos (SPS, Division of Applied Undergraduate Studies)
  • Amal Shehata (Stern, Accounting)
  • Victoria Steeves (Libraries)
  • Alyssa Wise (Steinhardt)
  • TBD NYUAD representative
  • TBD SSC representative
    Ex officio:

  • Janet Alperstein (Global Programs)
  • Kelsey Buttendorf (Steinhardt / co-chair, Instructional Technologists Committee)
  • Erin Callahan (Student Affairs)
  • Jason Korenkiewicz (NYU IT)
  • Ben Maddox (NYU IT)
  • Len Peters (NYU IT)
  • Ryan Poynter (Provost’s Office)
  • Marina Thomatos (GPH / co-chair, Instructional Technologists Committee)
  • Brendon Troy (Enrollment Management)