New York University Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Sub Navigation

Fast Facts

Founded in 1831, New York University is the largest private university in the United States. The University, which is composed of 14 schools, colleges, and divisions, occupies five major centers in Manhattan. It operates branch campus and research programs in other parts of the United States and abroad, as well as study abroad programs in more than 25 countries. New York University is also one of the largest employers in New York City, with over 16,000 employees.

Gould Plaza at night

Schools, Colleges, and Institutes

Washington Square Center

    • College of Arts and Science/CAS (1832)
    • School of Law/LAW (1835)
    • Graduate School of Arts and Science/GSAS (1886)
    • Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, and Human Development/ED (1890)
    • Leonard N. Stern School of Business/STERN (1900)
    • NYU College of Nursing (1932)
    • Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences/CIMS (1934)
    • School of Continuing and Professional Studies/SCPS (1934)
    • Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service/WAGNER (1938)
    • School of Social Work/ESSW (1960)
    • Tisch School of the Arts/TSOA (1965)
    • Gallatin School of Individualized Study/GAL (1972)

NYU School of Medicine

School of Medicine/MED (1841) Post-Graduate Medical School/P-GM (1948)
550 First Avenue

David B. Kriser Dental Center

College of Dentistry/DENT (1865)
324 East 24th Street

Institute of Fine Arts

Institute of Fine Arts/IFA (1938)
1 East 78th Street

New York University Midtown Center

School of Continuing and Professional Studies/SCPS (1934)
11 West 42nd Street


Nearly 420,000 from all 50 states and 163 foreign countries.


International students make up 9.7 percent of NYU's student body (3,823)


Martin Lipton: Chairman of the Board of Trustees
John Sexton: President


Academic and Administration

Over 5 million square feet of interior space


Housing for over 11,000 undergraduate, graduate, and professional students


The eight libraries hold over 4.5 million volumes. Elmer Holmes Bobst Library and Study Center alone holds more than 3.3 million

Kimmel Center

University Facts

Founding Date: April 18, 1831 
Official Color: Violet 
Nickname: Violets 
Mascot: Bobcat 
Alma Mater: The Palisades


  • Total: 50,917
  • Undergraduate: 19,401
  • Graduate and Professional: 18,990
  • Noncredit Programs: 12,526

Degrees Conferred

  • Total: 11,804
  • Associates: 698
  • Baccalaureate: 4,492
  • Master's: 4,840
  • Doctoral: 407
  • Professional: 1,367

Selected Awards and Honors

  • Abel Prizes: 3
  • Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences: 68
  • American Council of Learned Society Fellowships/Grants: 25 in the last 17 years
  • Guggenheim Fellowships: 147 faculty members have received fellowships since 1964; 70 in the last 17 years
  • Howard Hughes Medical Investigatorship: 7
  • Lasker Awards: 7
  • MacArthur Fellowships: 12
  • Elected to the National Academy of Sciences: 21
  • Nobel and Crafoord Prizes: 4
  • Pulitzer Prizes: 4


For information on NYU's budget, please view recent Fiscal Budget Plans.

For more NYU facts, visit the Web site of the University's Office of Institutional Research and Program Evaluation.

NYU Footer