New York University Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Sub Navigation

2013 Wasserman Winners Announced

April 12, 2013

The Kanbar Institute of Film and Television at the NYU Tisch School of the Arts last night presented this year’s Wasserman Awards for excellence in filmmaking, officially wrapping up the NYU Annual First Run Film Festival. Winners included undergraduate Erin Sanger for her film “Bombshell” and graduate student Vladimir De Fontenay for “Mobile Homes.” Both Sanger and De Fontenay won first prize overall in their categories, as well as King Screenwriting awards.

The Wasserman awards are given annually to three undergraduate and three graduate film students at NYU’s Kanbar Institute, and receive special underwriting by a grant from the Charles and Lucille King Family Foundation. In addition to the Wasserman Awards, four additional prizes were awarded recognizing excellence in screenwriting and directing. The award-winning films will be celebrated with screenings in Los Angeles on June 6 at the Directors Guild of America. The full list of winners included:

Undergraduate Film

1st Prize, $10,000 – Erin Sanger, Bombshell
2nd Prize, $7,000 – Jacob Kafka, Based on a True Story
3rd Prize, $5,000 – Bruce Li, Caught
King Award in Screenwriting, Undergraduate, $3,000 - Erin Sanger, Bombshell
Wasserman Award in Directing, Graduate, $2,000 - Erin Sanger, Bombshell

Graduate Film

1st Prize, $10,000 – Vladimir De Fontenay, Mobile Homes
2nd Prize, $7,000 – Melanie Delloye, Anna and Jerome
3rd Prize, $5,000 – Sarah-Rose Meredith, Plan B
King Award in Screenwriting, Graduate, $3,000 - Vladimir De Fontenay, Mobile Homes
Wasserman Award in Directing, Graduate, $2,000 - Sarah-Rose Meredith, Plan B

The Kanbar Institute of Film and Television at the Tisch School of the Arts provides an intensive and professional education in filmmaking. Approximately 150 graduate and 1,050 undergraduate film students pursue degrees in film and television production, photography, cinema studies, dramatic writing, and interactive telecommunications. Distinguished alumni of the Kanbar Institute include Joel Coen, Chris Columbus, Billy Crystal, Martha Coolidge, Ernest Dickerson, Amy Heckerling, Jim Jarmusch, Ang Lee, Spike Lee, Todd Phillips, Brett Ratner, Nancy Savoca, Martin Scorsese, Susan Seidelman, Morgan Spurlock, and Oliver Stone, among many others.

This Press Release is in the following Topics:
Tisch School of the Arts

Type: Press Release

Press Contact: Shonna Keogan | (212) 998-6796

2013 Wasserman Winners Announced

Search News

NYU In the News

Entrepreneurship Lab Opens at NYU

Crain’s New York Business covered the opening of the Mark and Debra Leslie Entrepreneurial eLab, which will be the headquarters for NYU’s Entrepreneurial Institute and all of the University’s programs aimed at promoting innovation and startups.

A Globalizer for N.Y.U. in Abu Dhabi

The New York Times profiled Bill Bragin who will become the first executive artistic director of NYU Abu Dhabi’s new performing arts center.

Think Tank to Ponder a Future for Ballet

The New York Times profiled Jennifer Homans, the director of NYU’s new Center for Ballet and the Arts.

The Brilliant Ten: Jonathan Viventi Builds Devices That Decode Thoughts

Popular Science named Assistant Bioengineering Professor Jonathan Viventi as one of its “brilliant ten” for his research into brain implants that could one day halt epileptic episodes:

Living and Leaving the Dream: Adrian Cardenas’ Journey from the Major Leagues to College

The New York Times ran a feature on Adrian Cardenas, a former major league baseball player who is now studying philosophy and creating writing at NYU.

NYU Footer