T-FSC Committees  

The T-FSC committees are comprised of faculty senators and a faculty senator chair/co-chairs, chosen by the T-FSC Executive Committee. They typically meet monthly.

Administration & Technology

examines administrative issues which affect faculty, including technology-related issues such as technology-enhanced education

Educational Policies & Faculty/Student Relations

acts as the T-Faculty Senators Council counterpart to the Academic Affairs Committee of the University Senate; interacts with the NYU Center for Teaching Excellence; proposes, develops, and implements new programs to enhance faculty participation in campus and student life

Faculty Benefits & Housing

reviews and makes recommendations with regard to faculty benefits; discusses issues related to housing for faculty; monitors University policies and practices that affect faculty in University housing

Finance and Policy Planning

studies faculty salaries, working conditions, negotiation processes; examines long-range issues; addresses other relevant financial matters

Global Network University

analyzes academic issues regarding portal campuses and the implementation of the Global Network University initiative


monitors University-wide governance and the governance process in the several schools; considers the impact of policies that affect faculty governance; conducts regular periodic reviews of the NYU Faculty Handbook


hears faculty appeals from a dean’s decision on appointment, reappointment, promotion, or tenure; ascertains compliance with school grievance procedural safeguards; makes recommendations to the President

Inclusion, Equity, & Diversity

collects, reviews, and disseminates institutional data as it relates to the representation and academic standing of underrepresented groups of faculty and students; serves as a liaison between the Faculty Senators Council and the Office of Equal Opportunity, Office of the Provost for Diversity, and Office of Institutional Research on policies and procedures that affect matters related to inclusion, equity, and diversity; develops proposals for programs to further advance the university’s mission in these areas.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee calls for nominations and prepares a list of at least two candidates for the position of Chair-elect, Vice Chairperson, and Secretary. The list of candidates will be announced in the meeting notice one month prior to the election.


Personnel Policies & Tenure Modifications

reviews University personnel policies and practices, including inclusion, equity & diversity, which affect the faculty; considers any proposals affecting tenure; examines problems experienced under tenure rules and considers alternative solutions

University Senate Committees

The Senate Committees are comprised of representatives from all Councils of the University Senate. They typically meet monthly.  

Academic Affairs

The Committee shall consider the educational policies of the University and shall have responsibility for stimulating and promoting experimentation and innovation. The Committee shall consider matters pertaining to New York University relations with professional and educational organizations.

The Committee shall advise the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees regarding honorary degrees and other special awards, as provided in the Bylaws, and regarding the naming of buildings or other facilities not earmarked for naming gifts. The Committee shall be responsible for presenting to the Senate a calendar for the academic year that begins in the following calendar year.  

T-FSC Members: Robert Lapiner, Béatrice Longuenesse, Marilyn Nonken

Financial Affairs

The Committee shall consider and make recommendations on financial and budgetary policies of the University, including those relating to capital budgets, operating budgets, long-range financial planning, policies governing allocation of resources among schools, and policies on tuition and salary. In addition, the Committee shall consider matters relating to the development of University facilities.

T-FSC Members: Fabienne Doucet, Nicholas Economides, Robert Lapiner, Maurizio Porfiri, Robert Shapley

Public Affairs

The Committee shall be concerned with all matters relating to the Commencement Exercises and other public occasions affecting more than one school.The Committee shall consider matters pertaining to New York University's relations with the community.

The Committee shall conduct a yearly review of the guidelines on the use of University facilities, and shall inform appropriate administrative personnel about the operation of these guidelines.

The Committee shall also develop additional guidelines, if needed, for approval by the Senate; hear grievances and arbitrate disputes in connection with the use of University facilities; and determine violations of the guidelines. Appeals from decisions of the Public Affairs Committee may be made to the Senate.

T-FSC Members: Mark Alter, Darcey Merritt, Arthur Tanenbaum


Senate Committee on Organization and Governance (SCOG)

The Committee shall review organizational policies of the University and make recommendations regarding governance.

T-FSC Members: Béatrice Longuenesse, Dara Regaignon, Paul Smoke, Jim Uleman

University Judicial Board

The Board shall hear and decide cases referred to it,directly and on appeal, in accordance with the provisions of the Disciplinary Procedures.

T-FSC Members: Rochelle Dreyfuss, David Irving, Gwendolyn Quinn, Andrew Romig, Arthur Tanenbaum, Shamoon Zamir

University Committees

  • Emergency Management Advisory Council: Amanda Watson
  • Retirement Plan Committee: Nick Economides
  • Senate Ad Hoc Committee on Sexual Misconduct: Nancy Van Devanter