Skip to All NYU Navigation Skip to Main Content


C-FSC Committees 2017-2018


Administration & Technology

Analyze and monitor policies and issues affecting faculty involving technology-related issues, such as technology-enhanced education, University social media policies and Personal Digital Content Policies.

Members: Mitchell Joachim, Jung T. Kim, Edward Kleinert, Geoff Shullenberger, Victoria Steeves, Antonius Oktaviano Wiriadjaja


Facilitate and coordinate the collection and distribution of relevant information to C-FSC Constituents, Administration, Schools, other committees, and the public when deemed relevant. This should include, but not be limited to, creating succinct summaries of meetings, data from surveys, council decisions, policies, and activities, as well as aiding C-FSC Senators in the dissemination of important information directly to their individual schools.

Chair: Victoria Steeves
Vice Chair: Scott Illingworth
Members: Martha Caprio, Sally Cohen, Janet Grillo, Sam Howard-Spink, Noelle Molé Liston, Antonius Oktaviano Wiriadjaja

Chair: Beverly Watkins
Members: Wendy Bednarz, Jamie Skye Bianco, Michael Funk, Larry Slater, Andrew Williams, Antonius Oktaviano Wiriadjaja, Janet Zarish

Educational Policies and Faculty/Student Relations

Interact with the NYU Center for Teaching Excellence to enhance the effectiveness of teaching at NYU; develop recommendations to support and enhance faculty-student relations, both in and out of the classroom.

Members: Joseph Borowiec, Spiros Frangos, Scott Illingworth, Fidelindo Lim, Noelle Molé Liston, Jon Ritter, Ethan Youngerman

Faculty Benefits and Housing

Advocate, review and make recommendations with regard to faculty benefits (health and retirement plans; tuition remission; etc.); monitor and make recommendations to issues particularly relating to faculty residing in faculty housing; analyze University policies related to housing for faculty.

Chair: Vincent Renzi
Members: Alison Aldrich, Joseph Borowiec, Michael Ferguson,  Ezra Sacks, Geoff Shullenberger

Faculty Grievance

Hears faculty appeals from a dean’s decision on issues related to reappointment and promotion; monitors compliance with school grievance procedures; makes recommendation to the Provost.

Members: Erich Anderer, Marion Casey, Edward Kleinert, Tommy Lee, Victoria Steeves, Beverly Watkins, Heidi White, Andrew Williams, Janet Zarish

Finance and Policy Planning

Examine and analyze faculty salaries, working conditions, long-range issues and other relevant finance matters, as determined by the Committee and the Council.

Members: Joseph Carter, Leila Jahangiri, Tommy Lee, Larry Slater, Susan Stehlik

Global Network University

Monitor and analyze academic, faculty, and other issues pertaining to the GNU campuses and portals.

Chair: Sam Howard-Spink
Members: ​Aysan Celik, Scott Illingworth, Edward Kleinert, Joshua Martin Paiz, Pamela Pietro


Monitor implementation and impact of University joint shared governance and governance policies and practices in the several schools, programs and divisions, GNU campus sites and portals, particularly as they pertain to full-time continuing contract faculty; Monitor and make recommendations for procedures governing the Council; conduct periodic reviews of the NYU Faculty Handbook; develop and suggest recommendations to the Faculty Handbook and Guidelines mentioned above for presentation to the C-FSC.

Chair: Antonios Saravanos
Members: Lauren Davis, John Gershman, Mitchell Joachim, Larry Slater, Patrick Ying

Personnel Policies and Contract Issues

Reviews University and school policies and practices including contracts and/or contract modifications and guidelines that affect full-time continuing contract faculty, such as the University Guidelines for Full-Time Continuing Contract Faculty Appointments.

Members: Erich Anderer, Marion Casey, Aysan Celik, Lauren Davis, Joyce Moon Howard, Fidelindo Lim, Joshua Martin Paiz, Iskender Sahin, Huzefa Talib, Heidi White

University Senate Committees 2017-2018

The Senate Committees are comprised of representatives from all Councils of the University Senate. They typically meet monthly.  


Academic Affairs

The Committee shall consider the educational policies of the University and shall have responsibility for stimulating and promoting experimentation and innovation. The Committee shall consider matters pertaining to New York University relations with professional and educational organizations.

The Committee shall advise the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees regarding honorary degrees and other special awards, as provided in the Bylaws, and regarding the naming of buildings or other facilities not earmarked for naming gifts. The Committee shall be responsible for presenting to the Senate a calendar for the academic year that begins in the following calendar year.  

Members: Joseph Borowiec, Noelle Molé Liston, Beverly Watkins


Financial Affairs

The Committee shall consider and make recommendations on financial and budgetary policies of the University, including those relating to capital budgets, operating budgets, long-range financial planning, policies governing allocation of resources among schools, and policies on tuition and salary. In addition, the Committee shall consider matters relating to the development of University facilities.

Members: Jamie Skye Bianco, Joseph Carter, Leila Jahangiri, Tommy Lee, Susan Stehlik

Public Affairs

The Committee shall be concerned with all matters relating to the Commencement Exercises and other public occasions affecting more than one school.The Committee shall consider matters pertaining to New York University's relations with the community.

The Committee shall conduct a yearly review of the guidelines on the use of University facilities, and shall inform appropriate administrative personnel about the operation of these guidelines.

The Committee shall also develop additional guidelines, if needed, for approval by the Senate; hear grievances and arbitrate disputes in connection with the use of University facilities; and determine violations of the guidelines. Appeals from decisions of the Public Affairs Committee may be made to the Senate.

Marion Casey, Michael Ferguson, Iskender Sahin

Senate Committee on Organization and Governance (SCOG)

The Committee shall review organizational policies of the University and make recommendations regarding governance.

Members: ​Lauren Davis, John Gershman, Vincent Renzi, Antonios Saravanos


University Judicial Board

The Board shall hear and decide cases referred to it,directly and on appeal, in accordance with the provisions of the Disciplinary Procedures.

Members: Nancy Fefferman, Michael Funk, Heidi White, Andrew Williams, Ethan Youngerman, Janet Zarish


C-FSC Representatives on University Committees

  • Ad Hoc Committee on Tuition Remission and Portable Tuition: Joseph Borowiec, Marion Casey, Vincent Renzi
  • Senate Ad Hoc Committee on Sexual Misconduct: Aysan Celik, Gabrielle Gold-von Simson, Andrew Williams
  • University Security Advisory Committee: Peggy Morton, Andrew Williams
  • Honorary Degrees Committee: TBD
  • Senate Ad Hoc Committee on Work-Life Issues: Alison Aldrich, Vincent Renzi, Michael Ferguson