Academic Affairs

The Academic Affairs Committee of the University Senate considers the educational policies of the University and is responsible for stimulating and promoting experimentation and innovation.  The Committee considers matters pertaining to University relations with professional and educational organizations.

The Committee advises the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board of Trustees regarding honorary degrees and other special awards, and regarding the naming of buildings or other facilities.  

The Committee is responsible for presenting the Senate with a calendar for the academic year that begins the following calendar year and the Senate thereafter adopts a calendar at or before the March meeting of the Senate each year.

Deans Council: Thomas Carew, Susanne Wofford
T-Faculty Senators Council: Dale Jamieson, Robert Lapiner, Nancy Van Devanter
C-Faculty Senators Council: Peggy Morton, Ezra Sacks, Ben Stewart*
Student Senators Council: Apratim Bajpai, Caterina Dacey-Ariani, Emeka Mba-kalu, Angel Parker
Administrative Management Council: Justin Lerner, Stevin Michels
University Administrators: Uli Baer**, Lynne Brown**, Jeffrey Metzler***

Financial Affairs

The Financial Affairs Committee of the University Senate considers and makes recommendations on financial and budgetary policies of the University, including capital budgets, operating budgets, long-range financial planning, policies governing allocation of resources among schools, and policies on tuition and salary.  In addition, the Committee considers matters regarding the development of University facilities.

Deans Council: Dominic Brewer, Dennis Di Lorenzo, Trevor Morrison
T-Faculty Senators Council: Nick Economides, Andre Fenton, Maurizio Porfiri, Adam Ramey, Arun Sundararajan
C-Faculty Senators Council: Jamie Skye Bianco, Leila Jahangiri, Tommy Lee, Jon Ritter, Susan Stehlik
Student Senators Council: Michael Avgerinos, Akash Das, Joseph Ehrenkranz, Amanda Ezechi, Rose Liu, Joey Onwughalu, Peter Shivery
Administrative Management Council: John DeSantis, Carrie Meconis, Meredith Rendall
University Administrators: Robert Berne***, Andrew Hamilton*,** Anthony Jiga**, Marc Wais**

Organization and Governance

The Senate Committee on Organization and Governance reviews organizational policies of the University and makes recommendations regarding governance.

Deans Council: Dennis Di Lorenzo, Sherry Glied, Fred Schwarzbach
T-Faculty Senators Council: Sylvain Cappell, James Jacobs, Susan Logan, Jim Uleman
C-Faculty Senators Council: John Gershman, Brian Mooney, Vincent Renzi, Larry Slater*
Student Senators Council: Tamara Cesaretti, Reed Hodkin, Stephen Kho, Tatiana Lascu, Amanda Regalado, Erica Silverman
Administrative Management Council: Katrina Denney, Pamela Kavalam, Norma Kenigsberg
University Administrators: Rich Baum**, Pietrina Scaraglino**, Carrie Trowbridge***

Full-Time Contract Faculty Planning Committee (2013-2014)

Full-time contract faculty members were elected from throughout the University to work with the Senate Committee on Organization and Governance (SCOG) on addressing the issue of contract faculty representation in our governance structures.

At the April 17, 2014 meeting of the University Senate, SCOG formally presented a proposal for the admission of Full-time Non-Tenure Track/Contract Faculty to the University Senate. At the same meeting, the University Senate voted in favor of formally accepting the proposal set forth by SCOG, and voted in favor of recommending that the University Board of Trustees amend the Bylaws of the University to implement SCOG's recommendations.

The University Board of Trustees voted in favor of incorporating the Senate proposals into the University Bylaws on June 11, 2014. The amended Bylaws became effective on September 1, 2014, creating the Full-Time Non-Tenure Track/Contract Faculty Senators Council.

Public Affairs

The Senate Public Affairs Committee is concerned with matters relating to Commencement Exercises and other public occasions affecting more than one school. The Committee also considers matters related to the University's relations with the local community.  

The Committee conducts an annual review of the guidelines for use of University facilities and informs appropriate administrative personnel about the operation of these guidelines.  

The Committee also develops additional guidelines, as needed, for approval by the Senate; hears grievances and arbitrates disputes in connection with the use of University facilities; and determines violations of these guidelines. Appeals from decisions of the Public Affairs Committee may be made to the Senate.

Deans Council: Peter Blair Henry, Eileen Sullivan-Marx
T-Faculty Senators Council: Mark Alter, Arthur Tannenbaum*, Frank Upham
C-Faculty Senators Council: Marion Casey, Michael Ferguson, Vicky Steeves
Student Senators Council: Husniye Cogur, Josy Jablons, Bianca Kappor, Ryan Thomas
Administrative Management Council: Regina Drew, Juan Tie
University Administrators: Arlene Perlata, Lisa Kail, Marlon Lynch***, Jeffrey Metzler***

University Judicial Board

The New York University Student Disciplinary Procedures approved by the Senate on February 9, 1978 called for the creation of the University Judicial Board and its status as a Standing Committee of the Senate, the form of its membership, and its duties.

The Judicial Board hears and decides cases referred to it, directly and on appeal, in accordance with the provisions of the Disciplinary Procedures.

Deans Council: Charles Bertolami, Cheryl Healton, Carol Mandel, Geeta Menon, Trevor Morrison, Katepalli Sreenivasan
T-Faculty Senators Council: Arlene Davila, Angela Kamer, Ivan Selesnick, Robert Shapley, Arthur Tannenbaum, Thomas Wisniewski
C-Faculty Senators Council: Lucretia Depaola-Cefola, Aysan Celik, Nancy Fefferman, Peggy Morton, Andrew Williams, Ethan Youngerman
Student Senators Council: Naeem Crawford-Muhammad, Afraz Khan, Farzan Khan, Tara Ready, Pradeep Mulani, Matt Osubor, Annie Seaman, James Wiltsee
Administrative Management Council: Toni DePena, Rachel Dylenski, Amy Fair, Daniel Holub
University Administrators: William Miller***

Names of Alternate Senators appear in italics
* Committee Chair  ** Ex-Officio  *** Advisor