The University Senate is the deliberative body for the discussion of University-wide policies and proposed changes in University practices and structure. The Senate sets its agenda with particular concern for academic programs and structure, personnel and budgetary policies, development of facilities, and community, professional, and educational relations of the University. The Senate makes any recommendations regarding policies and practices of the University to the President and Chancellor and, through the President and Chancellor, to the Board of Trustees.

The Senate has the power to act upon educational matters and regulations of the academic community that affect more than one school, fixes the length of terms and vacations and defines the University calendar, and makes recommendations regarding educational programs, policies, and University publications. It also determines the time, place and manner of Commencement Exercises, and of other public occasions affecting more than one school of the University.

2019-2020 Executive Committee

  • Andrew Hamilton, President of the University
  • Eileen Sullivan-Marx, Chair of the Deans Council
  • Nicholas S. Economides, Chair of the Tenured/Tenure Track Faculty Senators Council
  • Larry Slater, Chair of the Full-Time Continuing Contract Faculty Senators Council
  • Jakiyah Bradley, Chair of the Student Senators Council
  • Cassandra Bizzaro, Chair of the Administrative Management Council
  • Terrance J. Nolan, University Secretary

2019-2020 Schedule of Meetings

All University Senate meetings are held in the Colloquium Room, #566, of the Global Center for Academic and Spiritual Life located at 238 Thompson Street.

  • Thursday, October 3, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, November 7, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, December 5, 2019, 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, February 13, 2020, 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, March 26, 2020, 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.
  • Thursday, April 23, 2020, 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.