Skip to All NYU Navigation Skip to Main Content

Academic Assessment Council

NYU Building

The Assessment Council is comprised of faculty, staff, and administrator liaisons representing each academic unit within the NYU community. Meeting several times per semester, the Council creates innovative assessment strategies, monitors compliance with university and accreditation assessment policies, shares success stories and assessment-related challenges, and develops meaningful practices to improve student learning across NYU programs and units.

Membership

The Assessment Council supports the institutional-wide scope of assessment. Members of the council represent the fifteen schools based at NYU's Washington Square Campus and our Global sites in Abu Dhabi and Shanghai. The council is Co-Chaired by Cybele Raver, Vice Provost of Academic, Faculty and Research Affairs and Diana Karafin, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Program Review and Assessment. 


Co-Chairs

Cybele Raver (Co-Chair)
Deputy Provost
cybele.raver@nyu.edu

Diana L. Karafin (Co-Chair)
Assistant Vice Provost, Academic Program Review and Assessment
diana.karafin@nyu.edu


Members


Tanya Goldman
Research Analyst
tanyagoldman@nyu.edu

Richard Kalb
Associate Dean for Students
richard.kalb@nyu.edu

James Mazza
Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
james.mazza@nyu.edu

Charles Seife
Professor
charles.seife@nyu.edu

Trace Jordan
Clinical Associate Professor
trace.jordan@nyu.edu

Vincent Renzi
Clinical Associate Professor
vincent.renzi@nyu.edu

Andrea Schreiber
Associate Dean of Graduate and Post-Graduate Programs
andrea.schreiber@nyu.edu

Louis Terracio
Vice Dean for Research
louis.terracio@nyu.edu

Martina Lynch
Director, Planning and Assessment
martina.lynch@nyu.edu

Cheryl Merzel
Director, MPH Program; Clinical Associate Professor of Global Public Health
cheryl.merzel@nyu.edu

James Pace
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs
james.pace@nyu.edu

Charlene Herreid
Director of Research and Assessment
charlene.herreid@nyu.edu

Millery Polyné
Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs
millery.polyne@nyu.edu

Celeste Orangers
Assistant Dean for Academic Policy Administration and Institutional Research
celeste.orangers@nyu.edu

Janet Alperstein
Assistant Vice President, Global Academic Planning
janet.alperstein@nyu.edu

Lindsay Wright
Associate Dean of Academic Planning and Enrollment
lindsay.wright@nyu.edu

Richard Thorsen
Vice President Emeritus; Senior Advisor to the President
rthorsen@poly.edu

Michael Mainiero
Executive Director of Academic Administrative Services
mmainier@nyu.edu

Louis Scheeder
Associate Dean of Faculty
louis.scheeder@nyu.edu

Joan Maniego
Assistant Director, Office of Deputy Dean
joan.maniego@nyu.edu

Susan Hilferty
Chair of Design Department
sh9@nyu.edu

Carrie Meconis
Assistant Director
carrie.meconis@nyu.edu

Laura Levine
Associate Professor
levine@nyc.rr.com
 

Ryan Poynter
Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
ryan.poynter@nyu.edu

Allan Corns
Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
acc13@nyu.edu

Priscilla Soucek
Director of Graduate Studies
ps3@nyu.edu

Diann Witt
Assistant Dean of Planning and Student Services
dwitt@stern.nyu.edu

Paula Steisel Goldfarb
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, Admissions, and Financial Aid
psteisel@stern.nyu.edu

Stefanie Slade
Senior Associate Director, Professional Programs
sslade2@stern.nyu.edu

Anya Takos
Director, PhD Program
atakos@stern.nyu.edu

Peter Diamond
Core Program Coordinator
peter.diamond@nyu.edu

James Zellinger
Manager of Institutional Research
james.zellinger@nyu.edu

Hilary Ballon
Professor & Deputy Vice Chancellor
hilary.ballon@nyu.edu

Ann Lederman
Associate Director, Operations Research
ann.lederman@nyu.edu

Elizabeth Larsen
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Urban Planning
elizabeth.larsen@nyu.edu

Connee Zotos
Clinical Associate Professor
cez1@nyu.edu

Karen Miner-Romanoff
Assistant Dean, Academic Execllence
km4401@nyu.edu

Wenjuan Li,
Associate Director, Teaching and Learning Assessment
wl52@nyu.edu

Jessica Martin
Assistant Director, Academic and Faculty Affairs
jnm330@nyu.edu

Andrew Williams
Director, Lawyering Program
andrew.williams@nyu.edu

Mike Ambrosino
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
michael.ambrosino@nyumc.org

Colleen Gillespie
Assistant Professor of Medicine
colleen.gillespie@nyumc.org

James Martin
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Director, MSW Program
james.martin@nyu.edu

Takako Kono
Assistant Director, MSW Program Services
takako.kono@nyu.edu

Robert Hawkins
Associate Professor in Poverty Studies
rlh6@nyu.edu

Wen-Jui Han
Director, PhD Program
wjh3@nyu.edu

Genielle Salazar
Assistant Director, PhD Program
genielle.salazar@nyu.edu 

Benjamin Sher
Director, Office of Global and Lifelong Learning
benjamin.sher@nyu.edu