Skip to All NYU Navigation Skip to Main Content

Academic Assessment Council

NYU Building

The Assessment Council is comprised of faculty, staff, and administrator liaisons representing each academic unit within the NYU community. Meeting several times per semester, the Council creates innovative assessment strategies, monitors compliance with university and accreditation assessment policies, shares success stories and assessment-related challenges, and develops meaningful practices to improve student learning across NYU programs and units.


The Assessment Council supports the institutional-wide scope of assessment. Members of the council represent the fifteen schools based at NYU's Washington Square Campus and our Global sites in Abu Dhabi and Shanghai. The council is Co-Chaired by Cybele Raver, Vice Provost of Academic, Faculty and Research Affairs and Diana Karafin, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Program Review and Assessment. 


Cybele Raver (Co-Chair)
Deputy Provost

Diana L. Karafin (Co-Chair)
Assistant Vice Provost, Academic Program Review and Assessment


Tanya Goldman
Research Analyst

Richard Kalb
Associate Dean for Students

James Mazza
Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs

Charles Seife

Trace Jordan
Clinical Associate Professor

Vincent Renzi
Clinical Associate Professor

Andrea Schreiber
Associate Dean of Graduate and Post-Graduate Programs

Louis Terracio
Vice Dean for Research

Martina Lynch
Director, Planning and Assessment

Cheryl Merzel
Director, MPH Program; Clinical Associate Professor of Global Public Health

James Pace
Senior Associate Dean for Academic Programs

Charlene Herreid
Director of Research and Assessment

Millery Polyné
Associate Dean for Faculty and Academic Affairs

Celeste Orangers
Assistant Dean for Academic Policy Administration and Institutional Research

Janet Alperstein
Assistant Vice President, Global Academic Planning

Lindsay Wright
Associate Dean of Academic Planning and Enrollment

Richard Thorsen
Vice President Emeritus; Senior Advisor to the President

Michael Mainiero
Executive Director of Academic Administrative Services

Louis Scheeder
Associate Dean of Faculty

Joan Maniego
Assistant Director, Office of Deputy Dean

Susan Hilferty
Chair of Design Department

Carrie Meconis
Assistant Director

Laura Levine
Associate Professor

Ryan Poynter
Assistant Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs

Allan Corns
Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs

Priscilla Soucek
Director of Graduate Studies

Diann Witt
Assistant Dean of Planning and Student Services

Paula Steisel Goldfarb
Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, Admissions, and Financial Aid

Stefanie Slade
Senior Associate Director, Professional Programs

Anya Takos
Director, PhD Program

Peter Diamond
Core Program Coordinator

James Zellinger
Manager of Institutional Research

Hilary Ballon
Professor & Deputy Vice Chancellor

Ann Lederman
Associate Director, Operations Research

Elizabeth Larsen
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Urban Planning

Connee Zotos
Clinical Associate Professor

Karen Miner-Romanoff
Assistant Dean, Academic Execllence

Wenjuan Li,
Associate Director, Teaching and Learning Assessment

Jessica Martin
Assistant Director, Academic and Faculty Affairs

Andrew Williams
Director, Lawyering Program

Mike Ambrosino
Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education

Colleen Gillespie
Assistant Professor of Medicine

James Martin
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs; Director, MSW Program

Takako Kono
Assistant Director, MSW Program Services

Robert Hawkins
Associate Professor in Poverty Studies

Wen-Jui Han
Director, PhD Program

Genielle Salazar
Assistant Director, PhD Program 

Benjamin Sher
Director, Office of Global and Lifelong Learning