New York University Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Sub Navigation

Office of the Provost

The Provost is the University's chief academic officer, who is responsible for setting the University's academic strategy and priorities, working closely with the deans of the schools, and identifying and cultivating interdisciplinary areas of excellence and collaboration within and between schools. All deans and directors of schools and institutes report to the Provost. The Provost also has direct responsibility for all academic support units. In addition, the Provost has institutional responsibility for the allocation of financial resources in accordance with academic priorities, working closely with the Office of the Executive Vice President.

The Office of the Provost oversees academic appointments, promotions, tenure, and faculty affairs; develops and maintains the academic infrastructure of the library and information technologies at NYU; guides academic planning and research support; and coordinates student programs and campus life.

Dr. David W. McLaughlin was appointed Provost of New York University in 2002. At that time, he gave his installation speech and defined the mission and the role of the Provost.

In carrying out his responsibilities, the Provost works with his (Senior) Vice and Associate Provosts, and senior executives, who constitute the Provost’s Advisory Group. This group of active scholars, higher education professionals, and experienced administrators help ensure that academic priorities are central to every decision made at NYU. Each (Senior) Vice Provost oversees a portfolio of executive offices. In addition, each (Senior) Vice Provost also serves as a liaison to designated schools and institutes.

The Provost also draws on distinguished University leaders and faculty committees who serve as advisors to the Provost and President.

Find here the Provost's July 31, 2013 message to Faculty on NYU's academic trajectory and other communications.


fleming

Katherine Fleming
Deputy Provost; Vice Chancellor, Europe
kef1@nyu.edu

Ulrich-Baer-Photo

Ulrich Baer
Vice Provost for Faculty, Arts, Humanities and Diversity
ulrich.baer@nyu.edu

Melody_Barnes

Melody Barnes
Vice Provost for Global Student Leadership Initiatives
melody.barnes@nyu.edu

GBenArous

Gérard Ben Arous
Vice Provost for Science and Engineering Development; Director, Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences
gba1@nyu.edu

Thomas Crow Portrait

Thomas Crow
Provostial Fellow
tc59@nyu.edu

PaulHorn

Paul Horn
Senior Vice Provost for Research; Senior Vice Dean for Strategic Initiatives and Entrepreneurship, Polytechnic School of Engineering
paul.horn@nyu.edu

Joe Juliano
Vice Provost and Associate Vice Chancellor for Strategic Planning
joe.juliano@nyu.edu

lindaMills-2010

Linda Mills
Vice Chancellor for Global Programs and University Life, NYU; Associate Vice Chancellor for Admissions and Financial Support, NYU Abu Dhabi
linda.mills@nyu.edu

Nancy Morrison
Vice President for Global Programs
nancy.morrison@nyu.edu

Carol Morrow Portrait

Carol Klaperman Morrow
Senior Associate Provost and Chief of Staff to the Provost
carol.morrow@nyu.edu

Cybele-Raver

C. Cybele Raver
Vice Provost for Research and Faculty Affairs
cybele.raver@nyu.edu

RonRobinphoto16May2014

Ron Robin
Senior Vice Provost, Global Faculty Development, NYU; Senior Vice Provost, Faculty Development, NYU-Abu Dhabi and NYU-Shanghai
ron.robin@nyu.edu

Matthew Santirocco Portrait

Matthew Santirocco
Senior Vice Provost for Undergraduate Academic Affairs
matthew.santirocco@nyu.edu

KRSreenivasan

K. R. Sreenivasan
Executive Vice Provost for Engineering and Applied Sciences; Dean, Polytechnic School of Engineering
krs3@nyu.edu

Organizational Chart
NYU Footer