New York University Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Sub Navigation

Leadership & University Administration

NYU’s leadership team is dedicated to fulfilling the University’s educational mission and research enterprise, to advancing a vision for the University’s future, and to sustain  its tradition of academic excellence.

The six major divisions and their subsequent administrative units can be found in the organizational chart under the leadership of the Office of the President.

Photo: President John Sexton

Office of the President

John Sexton is the fifteenth and current President of New York University. His tenure has been marked by a university that has grown faster than ever in terms of prospective student interest and a coordinating decrease in the overall
acceptance rate.

Read More

Photo: President-Designate, Andrew Hamilton


Oxford Vice Chancellor Andrew Hamilton—a noted chemist, a Fellow of the Royal Society, and the former provost of Yale—has been named the 16th president of New York University. He will officially take up his duties in January 2016.

Read More

The Office of the President is the highest ranking office at the University.  The Office of the Provost is the University’s chief academic office, and the Office of the Executive Vice President oversees the administrative and business operations of the University in support of the academic enterprise.  The Executive Vice President for Health has the responsibility of working with the deans, programs, and faculty involved in the health enterprise on matters ranging from the effect of legislation on healthcare to establishment of new programs to the financing and building of new research facilities.

The overall fiduciaries of the University - the Board of Trustees - create policy, set mission and purpose, and are tasked with building and maintaining a successful organization.  They ensure good management and adequate resources and they appoint and support the Office of the President.

The Deans and Directors lead NYU’s schools, colleges, and institutes. The Senior Administration manages the operations of the institution through various administrative units.

The University Senate, chaired by the President, is the chief deliberative body of the University; its membership is made up of representatives of the faculty, students, administrators, and deans.   

Together, these offices and groups make up the leadership and University-wide governance structures.

Administrative Units

The administration of the University is broken down into units. These offices collaborate and communicate with one another not only to maintain NYU's daily operations, but also to plan ahead for the future.

The top divisions of the University and the units that report into them are:


University Policies and Guidelines

The University continues to reinforce its commitment to promote and foster an ethical, efficient, and dynamic learning and work environment.
Read More

University Senate

The University Senate is the deliberative body for the discussion of University-wide policies and proposed changes in University practices and structure. The Senate consists of of the President and Chancellor, and 84 voting members amongst the Deans Council and the four councils below.

Read More

NYU Footer